priMED Mosaic Centre

Edmonton, Alberta

octobre 2, 2017

Rating System/Standard
LEED Canada FR
Certification Level
Platine
Building Type
Mixed-use FR

Situé à l’extrémité sud de la ville d’Edmonton, le priMED Mosaic Centre est un bâtiment commercial net zéro certifié LEED Platine. Le bâtiment à usage mixte de trois étages et d’une superficie de 30 000 pieds carrés comprend des espaces à bureaux pouvant accueillir 110 personnes, une garderie, un restaurant, un centre de bien-être, une salle de jeux et un grand atrium commun avec des gradins. Conçu pour montrer qu’il était possible de construire des bâtiments à faible consommation énergétique dans les climats nordiques, le bâtiment est une construction de bois qui relève tous les défis de la science du bâtiment et qui offre un meilleur environnement intérieur.

Le bâtiment a reçu la certification LEED pour nouvelles constructions de niveau Platine en octobre 2017. Nous nous sommes entretenus avec Craig Blackburn, chef de marque pour le propriétaire du centre, priMED Medical Products Inc., qui nous a expliqué pourquoi il était important de viser cette certification malgré les défis posés par un ralentissement économique dans la province

Se diversifier en durabilité des bâtiments en Alberta

Les propriétaires initiaux du bâtiment, Christy Benoit et Dennis Cuku de la société Oil Country Engineering Services Ltd. (OCE), voulaient démontrer par ce projet que les profits générés par le pétrole et le gaz pouvaient être étendus au secteur de la durabilité. « Ils voulaient donner l’exemple et construire le premier bâtiment commercial à consommation énergétique nette zéro de l’Alberta », raconte Craig Blackburn.

Les copropriétaires étaient déjà en relation avec le consultant LEED du projet, EcoAmmo, qui les avait aidés à construire une maison à consommation énergétique nette zéro. EcoAmmo a également travaillé avec eux pour verdir les bureaux d’OCE et en faire le gagnant du premier prix du Small Business Eco Challenge de la ville d’Edmonton. Il est clair que la durabilité était une priorité pour Benoît et Cuku lorsqu’est venu le temps de construire un nouvel immeuble de bureaux pour leur entreprise tout en prévoyant suffisamment d’espace pour la croissance future.

Alimenté par un champ de panneaux photovoltaïques d’une capacité de plus de 213 kW, le chauffage et le refroidissement étant assurés par 32 puits géothermiques, le priMED Mosaic Centre comprend également les caractéristiques importantes suivantes :

  • 95 pour cent des déchets de construction ont été détournés des sites d’enfouissement pendant les travaux.
  • Quatre bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques ont été installées.
  • 30 pour cent de l’aménagement paysager est comestible.
  • Le compostage est fait sur place.
  • Le réservoir de rétention des eaux pluviales a une capacité de 26 500 litres.
  • Un « mur vivant » (jardin vertical) s’étend sur trois étages dans le foyer.

La construction a commencé en mars 2014 et s’est achevée à l’automne 2015, trois mois avant la date prévue et dans le respect du budget. En août 2017, priMED a acheté le bâtiment de la firme OCE, dans l’intention d’y emménager à l’été 2018.

« Les coûts d’exploitation, le legs corporatif, la satisfaction et la productivité des employés, les améliorations à la santé et la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise sont tous des facteurs qui ont pesé lourd dans notre décision d’acheter le bâtiment », ajoute Blackburn.

Miser sur LEED pour attirer des locataires de qualité

The original owners’ space requirements led them to the idea of a building they could use themselves but that would also have areas they could lease out to the community. Their hope was to attract tenants who would value sustainability as much as they do, and they knew that successfully obtaining a third-party certification such as LEED would help them appeal to the right people.

Two rating systems were originally selected for this project: the Living Building Challenge (LBC) standard and LEED. While LBC was the driver for all design decisions, the owners wanted the more recognizable LEED certification to add value to its tenant offering.

Prioriser les pratiques écologiques en période de difficultés économiques

Le processus d’obtention de la certification a connu des hauts et des bas, en grande partie à cause du ralentissement économique en Alberta. Les propriétaires initiaux avaient besoin d’un prêt hypothécaire à taux variable pour le bâtiment alors qu’ils cherchaient des locataires capables de satisfaire aux exigences rigoureuses du programme Pétale du LBC. Après 11 mois, ils ont accepté des locataires qui convenaient très bien, mais pas assez parfaitement pour le programme Pétale et ils ont donc laissé tomber la certification du LBC. Ils ont également dû mettre de côté une grande partie du suivi opérationnel du bâtiment, ce qui a posé des défis pour la collecte des données. À un moment donné, ils ont pensé que le bâtiment pourrait obtenir la certification LEED Or, plutôt que la
certification Platine souhaitée, mais l’équipe de projet a été capable de relever les défis et d’atteindre l’objectif premier.

Concevoir avec un souci de réduction des déchets

Le projet a visé plusieurs objectifs de performance dans son désir d’obtenir les certifications Pétale du LBC et LEED, dont la consommation énergétique nette zéro et le détournement des sites d’enfouissement d’au moins 75 pour cent des déchets de construction (objectif dépassé, le pourcentage obtenu étant de 95). En phase avec cet objectif, l’équipe de conception a eu le mandat de créer du mobilier et des œuvres d’art qui utilisent les débris de bois de la structure du bâtiment. La mesure a eu un tel succès qu’ils ont manqué de bois et ont dû en acheter ailleurs pour terminer les pièces commandées.

L’utilisation de ressources locales était également un objectif fondamental. Tous les membres de l’équipe de projet étaient de l’Alberta et 99 pour cent d’entre eux, de la ville d’Edmonton. De plus, le projet a obtenu un point en innovation du fait que plus de 40 pour cent des matériaux étaient de provenance régionale. L’équipe a également accordé une importance prioritaire à la qualité de l’air intérieur et a obtenu 13 des 15 points de la catégorie Qualité des environnements intérieurs du système d’évaluation LEED, y compris des crédits pour une ventilation améliorée et pour l’utilisation de matériaux à faibles émissions.

D’autres améliorations aux espaces de bureaux sont en cours alors que le propriétaire actuel du bâtiment, priMED prévoit y emménager à l’été 2018. « Nous en sommes aux étapes de la planification de la documentation et du suivi de nos activités afin de mieux comprendre les données sur la productivité de nos locataires et de nos employés, les impacts sur la santé et la performance opérationnelle, notamment sur le plan de la rétention, des taux d’occupation et des comparaisons de taux locatifs », a conclu Blackburn.

CARTE DE POINTAGE LEED

Niveau de certificationPlatine
Système d’evaluationLEED Canada pour nouvelles constructions et rénovations majeures
Nombre de points obtenus82
Aménagement écologique des sites16/26
Gestion efficace de l’eau7/10
Énergie et atmosphère31/35
Matériaux et ressources5/14
Qualité des environnements intérieurs13/15
Innovation dans l’exploitation6/6
Priorité régionale4/4

More Case Studies

Le Phénix

Le Phénix se distingue une nouvelle fois et obtient la certification Bâtiment à…
avril 28, 2022

Centre correctionnel Pine Grove

Construit en 1965, comme centre de détention pouvant accueillir 52 femmes, le centre…
mars 30, 2022

L’édifice NX du Collège Humber

L’édifice NX du Collège Humber est le premier projet de rénovation à obtenir…
mars 15, 2022

Le Centre Joyce pour le partenariat et l’innovation du Collège Mohawk

le deuxième projet à obtenir la certification Bâtiment à carbone zéro — Design…
Décembre 15, 2020

priMED Mosaic Centre

Edmonton, Alberta

October 2, 2017

Rating System/Standard
LEED Canada
Certification Level
Platinum
Building Type
Mixed-use

Located in the south end of Edmonton, the priMED Mosaic Centre is a net zero and LEED Platinum certified commercial building. The three-storey, 30,000 sq.ft. mixed-use building includes office space for 110 people, a childcare facility, restaurant, wellness centre, games room and a large common atrium area with bleacher-style seating. Designed to demonstrate the feasibility of low-energy buildings in cold climates, the building utilized wood construction to meet all building science challenges and provide an enhanced interior work environment.

The building received a LEED Platinum for New Construction certification in October 2017. We spoke with Craig Blackburn, Senior Brand Manager for the centre’s owner, priMED Medical Products Inc., about why it was important to pursue this certification despite challenges brought on by an economic downturn throughout the province.

Diversifying building sustainability in Alberta

The building’s original owners, Christy Benoit and Dennis Cuku of Oil Country Engineering Services Ltd., envisioned the project as a demonstration of how oil and gas profits could be diversified into the sustainability sector.

“They wanted to lead by example and build Alberta’s first attempt at a net zero energy commercial building,” says Blackburn.

The pair already had an existing relationship with the project’s LEED consultant EcoAmmo, which had helped them build a net zero energy home. EcoAmmo also worked with them to make the OCE office greener, leading to a first-place win in the City of Edmonton’s Small Business Eco Challenge. As such, sustainability was a clear priority for Benoit and Cuku when it came time to build a new office for their business that would provide enough space for future growth.

Powered by an array of photovoltaic panels with a capacity of more than 213 kW and heated/cooled by 32 geothermal wells, the priMED Mosaic Centre project also includes the following key features:

  • 95 per cent of materials diverted from landfill during construction
  • Four electric car-charging stations
  • 30 per cent edible landscape
  • On-site composting
  • 26,500-litre rainwater retention tank
  • Three-storey “living wall” (vertical garden) in foyer

Construction began in March 2014 and was completed in the fall of 2015, three months ahead of schedule and on budget. In August 2017, priMED purchased the building from OCE, with plans to move into the centre in the summer of 2018.

“Operating costs, corporate legacy, employee satisfaction and productivity, health improvements and corporate social responsibility were all factors that weighed heavily into our decision to purchase the building,” Blackburn adds.

Leveraging LEED to attract quality tenants

The original owners’ space requirements led them to the idea of a building they could use themselves but that would also have areas they could lease out to the community. Their hope was to attract tenants who would value sustainability as much as they do, and they knew that successfully obtaining a third-party certification such as LEED would help them appeal to the right people.

Two rating systems were originally selected for this project: the Living Building Challenge (LBC) standard and LEED. While LBC was the driver for all design decisions, the owners wanted the more recognizable LEED certification to add value to its tenant offering.

Making green practices a priority through economic challenges

The process of obtaining certification came with some ups and downs, largely due to the economic downturn in Alberta. The original owners needed to float the mortgage on the building while they sought out tenants who would meet the stringent requirements of the LBC Petal program. After 11 months, they took tenants who were a great fit, but not a perfect fit – and thus had to let the LBC certification drop. As well, much of the operational monitoring for the building also had to be left aside, resulting in data collection challenges. At one point, it also looked like the building might be certified as LEED Gold instead of attaining its desired LEED Platinum certification, but the project team was able to work through its complexities to achieve this goal.

Designing with waste reduction in mind

The project targeted several performance goals in its pursuit of both the LBC Petal and LEED certifications, including net zero energy and waste diversion of at least 75 per cent during construction, the latter of which it exceeded with 95 per cent of all materials diverted from landfill. As part of this goal, the project’s design team was given the task of creating furniture and artwork using wood scraps from the building’s structure. This was so successful that they actually ran out of scrap material and had to purchase waste from others to complete the commissioned pieces.

Utilizing local resources was also a key focus and as such all project team members were from Alberta, with 99 per cent of them being from Edmonton. As well, the project achieved an innovation point with more than 40 per cent in regional materials. The team also prioritized interior health quality, obtaining 13 out of 15 points in the Indoor Environmental Quality category of the LEED rating system, including credits for increased ventilation and use of low-emitting materials.

And even more office improvements are in the works as current building owner priMED plans its Summer 2018 move to the centre. “We are currently in the planning stages of documenting and monitoring our operations so we can better understand our tenant and staff productivity, health impacts, as well as operational performance data, including retention, occupancy rates and rental cost comparisons,” says Blackburn.

LEED SCORE CARD

Certification LevelPlatinum
Rating SystemLEED Canada for New Construction and Major Renovations
Total Points earned82
Sustainable Sites16 out of 26
Water Efficiency7 out of 10
Energy & Atmosphere31 out of 35
Materials & Resources5 out of 14
Indoor Environmental Quality13 out of 15
Innovation6 out of 6
Regional Priority Credits4 out of 4

More Case Studies

Édifice Jacques-Parizeau’s ZCB-Performance certification to guide future Ivanhoé Cambridge projects

Located in Montreal’s International District, Édifice Jacques-Parizeau is the home of real estate…
April 28, 2022

Scotia Plaza’s 40 King Street West

Zero carbon building reaches new heights with first ZCB-Performance v2 certification Scotia Plaza’s…
April 28, 2022

The Phenix

Phenix rises again with Zero Carbon Building-certified retrofit Architecture, planning and design firm…
April 28, 2022

The Joyce Centre for Partnership & Innovation

In May 2018, the Joyce Centre for Partnership & Innovation (JCPI) became the…
December 15, 2020