CaGBC Board of Directors seats confirmed

The Council gives thanks to the outgoing Directors for their service and support over their terms. We join with the Board to welcome all new members and thank those who voted.

CaGBC is governed by a Board of Directors whose members represent key building industry sectors across the country. The organization relies on its Board and the time, commitment and passion of its members. As of the close of Nominations on March 5, 2021 (11:59 pm PST), there were four seats for the CaGBC Board of Directors. The seats for this year’s election were ratified at the CaGBC Annual General Meeting, held virtually in June 2021. 


Incoming and returning board seats


Real Estate Owners & Developers
(3-year term)
Nisha Agrawal, Director of Sustainability
QuadReal Property Group


An advocate for ESG, Nisha's expertise includes promoting green building certifications across the Canadian portfolio and supporting development of environmental, social and governance practices at QuadReal properties internationally. Nisha brings 10+ years of experience in the commercial real estate industry, beginning her career in finance.  From there, she moved into Sustainability and for the past 5 years has been developing programs to effectively streamline and integrate sustainability initiatives with operations. .  Nisha is inspired by the progress companies have made to improve tenant health and well-being, reduce resource depletion, and innovate to create solutions in building operations.

Product Manufacture, Suppliers and Retail (3-year term)
John Pontarollo, Senior Vice President, Commercial Excellence, Logistics and Sustainable Development
Ash Grove Cement/CRH  Canada Group 


John is responsible for commercial & logistics optimization across all Ash Grove’s 12 cement plants and 47 terminals in North America. In addition, he is responsible for the development and execution of the organization’s Sustainable Development vision, strategy and implementation. John is a strong advocate of sustainable construction and is helping to steer the industry to adopt more sustainable construction practices. He actively fosters the principles of the triple bottom line – value creation, sustainable environmental performance and social responsibility to ensure there is a balance between stable economic growth, continual social progress and preservation of the environment.

Real Estate Managers and Tenants 

(3-year term)
Anna Murray, Managing Director, Global Head of ESG


Anna has spent her career advancing corporate strategy around the globe at major multinationals. Anna currently leads BGO's global Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) platform (~70 Billion AUM) integrating risk management and value creation practices into investment decisions and asset management. Anna holds an MBA and law degree. Anna is the Co-chair of the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI) Investment Committee Property Working Group and Founder of the non-profit Young Women in Energy. Notable accolades include: Canada's Top 40 Under 40, Top 100 Women in Canada, Canada's Clean50 and the Making a Difference for Women Award.

At Large

(3-year term)
Julia St. Michael, Director, Sustainability
Enwave Energy Corporation


Connecting with government and policy makers, commercial real estate professionals, building operators and managers plus supporting organizations (such as CaGBC, QUEST, BOMA Toronto,ULI, IDEA), Julia represents Enwave within the green building and sustainable energy community, identifying new opportunities for projects and partnerships. Responsible for communicating the sustainability benefits of district energy and supporting the development of low carbon strategies, she works to address climate change-related risks within Enwave’s operations and new projects. The release of Enwave’s inaugural ESG Report and the launch of its Green Financing Framework in 2020 were exciting achievements that Julia and her team will continue to build on.


Thank you to our outgoing members

CaGBC would like to thank our outgoing Board members for their dedication, valued service and guidance in shaping our strategic focus:


Caroline Bordeaux

Canderel Management Inc.

Michele Walkau

First Capital Realty

Morgan McDonald

(Chair, Chapter Advisory Committee)
Ledcor Group