CaGBC Award Winners


The annual Leadership Awards recognize individuals and organizations that show outstanding leadership in the industry, and those who have made a significant contribution to the CaGBC’s mission and goals in advancing green building in Canada. This year, the CaGBC expanded its Excellence in Green Building Awards with new categories: the Inspiring Home Award, the Tenant Improvement Award and the Zero Carbon Building Award, in addition to categories for new construction and existing building projects.

Congratulations to the 2019 CaGBC Award Winners:

Green Building Excellence Awards

Tenant Improvement
Prairie Architects Inc., Office

Inspiring Home
Parkdale Landing, Housing Retrofit

Zero Carbon Award | Sponsored by: Integral Group
École Curé-Paquin


New Construction | Sponsored by: Mitsubishi Electric Heating & Cooling
Western University, Engineering Building

Existing Building
4711 Yonge , Marisa Construction Ltd. and Menkes Property Management Services Ltd.

Leadership Awards

Lifetime Achievement
Daniel Pearl, co-founder L’OEUF (l’Office de l’Éclectisme Urbain et Fonctionnel)

Inspired Educator | Sponsored by: GWL Realty Advisors
Cheryl Fryers, Professor, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Architectural Technologies

Government Leadership | Sponsored by: Stantec
Public Services and Procurement Canada


The Ed Lim Technical | Formerly the Technical Volunteer
Guillaume Martel, Architect and Sustainability Specialist, Provencher_Roy Architectes

Volunteer Leadership – Chapter
Natalie Irwin, Director of Stakeholder Engagement for Efficiency Canada

Green Building Champion
Lisa Westerhoff, Integral Group


Green Building Pioneer
Roland Charneux, Pageau Morel et associés inc.

Emerging Green Leader | Sponsored by: DIALOG
Afaf Azzouz, Buildings Performance Engineer, Stantec


Past CaGBC Award Winners:

2018 Green Building Excellence Awards

New Construction – Commercial
Kennedale EcoStation, City of Edmonton

New Construction – Institutional
Humber River Hospital

Existing Building – Commercial
Royal Bank Plaza, Oxford Properties Group

Inspiring Home Award
Karen’s Place, Ottawa Salus Corporation.
Honourable mention: Edelweiss by Ecohabitation.

Tenant Improvement Award
Engineering & Development Team Headquarters (Phase 1), Google Canada

Zero Carbon Building Award
evolv1, Cora Group

2018 Leadership Awards

CaGBC Lifetime Achievement
Brian Denney, former CEO, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA)

CaGBC Inspired Educator
Winner: Dr. Mark Gorgolewski, Chair, Dept. of Architectural Science, Ryerson University

CaGBC Emerging Green Leader
Winner: Sascha Jansz, PhD researcher, University of Groningen

Government Leadership
Winner: Lisa King, Senior Environmental Policy Planner, City of Toronto

CaGBC Volunteer Leadership – Technical Expertise
Winner: Jamie McKay, Principal, Morrison Hershfield Limited

CaGBC Volunteer Leadership – Chapter
Winner: Morgan MacDonald, Director of Operations, Ledcor Renew

CaGBC Green Building Champion
Winner: Jonathan Westeinde, Founder and CEO, Windmill Development Group

CaGBC Green Building Pioneer
Winner (Posthumous): Chris Jepson, formerly of Williams Engineering Canada

Students Leading Sustainability: Andy Kesteloo Memorial Project Award
Winner: Tessa Benson, British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) for her project titled OUTSIDE THE BOX



CaGBC Lifetime Achievement Award: Stephen Carpenter
CaGBC Inspired Educator Award: Dr. Janet Moore and Duane Elverum
CaGBC Emerging Green Professional Award: Hilary Corneau
Government Leadership Award: Office of Climate Change, Executive Council, Government of NFL
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership – Technical Expertise: Wendy MacDonald
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership – Chapter: Tony Iacobelli
CaGBC Green Building Champion Award: David Ramslie
CaGBC Green Building Pioneer Award: Liviu Craiu-Botan
Excellence in Green Building (New Construction): Amber Trails Community School
Excellence in Green Building (Existing Building): Vancouver Convention Centre (VCC)
Students Leading Sustainability: Andy Kesteloo Memorial Project Award: Andrew Martins


CaGBC Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Halsall
CaGBC Academic Leadership Award: Ron Kato
CaGBC Emerging Green Builder Award: Jerad Furze
Government Leadership Award: Metrolinx
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership Award: Jennifer Sanguinetti
CaGBC Chapter Leadership Award: Michael Flowers
CaGBC Green Building Champion Award: Emmanuel Cosgrove
CaGBC Industry Leadership Award: David Hoffman
Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project Award: Ashley Hu


Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project: Jason Reid
Academic Leadership: The British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)
Emerging Green Builder: Liam Cook
Government Leadership: BC Housing
Volunteer Leadership: Mark Lucuik
Chapter Leadership: Charline Cormier
Green Building Champion: Martin Roy
Industry Leadership: Ian Gillespie
Lifetime Achievement: Alex Zimmerman


Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project: Alison Anne Walker
Academic Leadership: Rochelle Owen
Emerging Green Builder: Fin MacDonald
Government Leadership: Alan DeSousa
Volunteer Leadership: Colleen Kuruluk
Chapter Leadership: Josée Lupien
Green Building Champion: Steve Kemp
Industry Leadership: Darryl Neate
Lifetime Achievement: Peter Busby


Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project: Albert Lam
Academic Leadership: The Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
Emerging Green Builder: Laura Paul
Government Leadership: The Government of Alberta
Volunteer Leadership: Brenda Martens
Chapter Leadership: Simon Knight
Green Building Champion: Keith Robertson
Industry Leadership: Groupe Montoni
Lifetime Achievement: Cornelia Hahn Oberlander


Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project: Simon VanGrootheest
Academic Leadership: Algonquin College
Emerging Green Builder: Aaron Short
Government Leadership: Infrastructure Ontario
Volunteer Leadership: Sue Clark
Chapter Leadership: John Crace
Green Building Champion: Vivian Manasc
Industry Leadership: Gord Hicks
Lifetime Achievement: Kevin Hydes


Chapter Leadership: Cindy Choy (Manitoba Chapter)
Academic Leadership: Dr. John Robinson (UBC, Vancouver)
Green Building Champion: John Godden (Clear Sphere, Toronto)
Government Leadership: Province of Ontario
Industry Leadership: Michael Brooks (REAL Pac, Toronto)
Lifetime Achievement: Wayne Trusty (ATHENA, Ottawa)
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership: Curt Hepting (Enersys Analytica Ltd, Coquitlam)


Chapter Leadership: Joel Courchesne (Montreal Chapter)
Academic Leadership: Freda Pagani (UBC, Vancouver)
Green Building Champion: Jason McLennan (Cascadia, Seattle)
Government Leadership: Province of BC
Industry Leadership: Greg Nevison (Tridel)
Lifetime Achievement: Joe Van Bellegham (Buildgreen Developments, Victoria)
Emerging Green Builder Leadership: Jessica Roder (O'Neill O'Neill Procinsky Architects, Edmonton)
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership: Ed Lim (Pinchin, Toronto)


Chapter Leadership: Doug Webber (Toronto Chapter)
Academic Leadership: Danny Pearl (l'OEUF, Montreal)
Green Building Champion: Jack Meredith (Healthy Green Buildings Consultants Ltd, Victoria)
Government Leadership: City of Vancouver
Industry Leadership: Alan Greenberg (MintoUrban Communities)
Lifetime Achievement: Ray Cole (UBC, Vancouver)
Emerging Green Builder Leadership: Justin Downey (ECO3 Inc. Sustainable Building Consultants)
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership: Joanne Perdue (U of Calgary, Calgary)


Chapter Leadership: Rodney McDonald (Manitoba Chapter)
Green Building Champion: Brian Denny (Toronto Region Conservation Authority, Toronto)
Government Leadership: City of Calgary
Industry Leadership: Doug Martineau (Haworth Canada, Calgary)
CaGBC Volunteer Leadership: Steve Carpenter (Enermodal Engineering, Toronto)