Chapter Leadership Board:

Allan Baskin, SMS Engineering

Allan is a senior mechanical engineer and partner with SMS Engineering Ltd. He has over 15 years in the construction industry working on multi-disciplinary projects in the commercial, institutional and industrial sectors. His experience includes conducting feasibility studies, building condition assessments, project management and leading the mechanical design (HVAC, plumbing, fire protection) on projects.

As an ASHRAE Certified Healthcare Design Professional, a great deal of his expertise focuses on new construction and renovations of healthcare facilities. These facilities are among the most energy-intensive and most expensive to construct and operate. As a result, Allan strives to integrate sustainable concepts whenever possible when designing the HVAC and plumbing systems, including energy recovery and water use reduction techniques.

Brent Kolton, Boeing Winnipeg Canada

Brent is an experienced Facility Manager with over 20 years in the field. His current role with Boeing Canada as Facility Plant Engineering Manager developed from the ground-up, working first in electrical construction then in facilities within Civil service, Education and Manufacturing sectors. He presently oversees 30 trades, 5 planners, 3 security & fire prevention focals, and all site-services contractors to ensure safe and efficient processing at Boeing’s aerospace site in Winnipeg. Brent recently participated with the LEED Silver-rated construction, commissioning and verification of a 160,000 sq ft plant expansion. He chairs the Boeing Winnipeg Green Energy Team and participates on the Seattle Utilities Council to exchange and connect energy sustainable initiatives on the corporate enterprise level.

Brent is a graduate of Electrical Engineering Technology from Red River College and is Certified under CTTAM. He is currently undertaking Sustainably Energy Management Advanced Certification with the British Columbia Institute of Technology, and the Certified Energy Manager program with CIET/AEE.

Jennifer Webber

Jennifer is very passionate about sustainability and the green construction industry in Manitoba. She has had the pleasure of working with several new construction project teams in the Province and has experience on over 10 LEED® Certified projects to date. Jennifer is CaGBC Faculty and sits on the CSC-Winnipeg Chapter Executive.

Liane Wychreschuk, Prairie Architects Inc.

Liane is an architect and has been working in the profession since 2007. During this time, she has had the opportunity to engage in a variety of public projects that include schools, child care, and community centres. While Liane was born and raised in Manitoba, she has travelled a great deal for university and pleasure. Her travels have exposed her to new cultures and activities that have helped inform her understanding of design and the need for community- driven architecture. Liane enjoys working on multiple projects + being involved in the many stages of design and construction as it provides opportunity to build smartly and more efficiently for the end user.

Marten Duhoux, ft3 Architecture Landscape Interior Design

Marten Duhoux's diverse portfolio reflects a career informed by international experience and dedication to sustainability. He received his Master of Science in Architecture from Delft University of Technology (Netherlands) and pursued a career informed by the belief that green buildings are affordable, durable and functional. Working in the Netherlands, United States and Canada, Marten’s portfolio has grown to include a specialization in housing development, in addition to a wide range of experience in commercial space, academic and healthcare facilities, institutional landmarks and restaurants. A LEED® Accredited Professional since 2008, he is a National Director of the Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) and Chair of the Manitoba Chapter of the CaGBC. Committed to sustainability as a consideration from the earliest stages of design and throughout the life of a project, his projects include the International Peace Gardens Interpretive Centre (LEED Silver Certified), the ft3 offices at The Strand on Waterfront Drive (LEED CI Gold Certified), and the Habitat for Humanity Winnipeg Sir Sam Steele Housing Development (9 LEED Platinum and 25 LEED Gold Certifications.

Nick Bockstael, Bockstael Construction

Nick is a Professional Engineer and he joined Bockstael Construction Limited in January 2012. Prior to joining Bockstael, Nick spent five years in the engineering and construction industry with expertise in project management, planning, design, implementation, testing, and inspection services. Nick was a consulting engineer and, prior to that, gained experience as a seasonal construction worker providing fieldwork, estimation, and project coordination services. His engineering and construction background gives him a unique insight into his work, and provides him with a special understanding of projects.

Rob Spewak, Red River College

Rob Spewak is the Centre Manager for the Buidlign Envelope Technology Access Centre at Red River Colelge. Rob has an M.Sc. degree in Agricultural & Bioresources Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan, and prior to this completed his B.Sc. degree in Agricultural Engineering at the University of Manitoba. He has worked in the agricultural implement industry, agricultural engineering consulting, as well as several years in the technical sales field. Rob joined Red River College’s Applied Research & Commercialization Department as Research Manager in 2007, upon completion of a Technology Commercialization Internship with the Westlink Innovation Network. Rob’s work at RRC has focused on building construction research, and he helped author a successful Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) grant in 2009 for $2.3 Million. Rob is continuing his work in this area with the establishment of the new Technology Access Centre, which is another funding program available through NSERC and available for renewal every five years. Rob enjoys joining in on the field work where possible, especially the large building airtightness testing days; he also has completed his Level 1 thermography training.